Monday Munchies: Figs

Welcome to the first of many “Monday Munchies”! I’ve been trying a bunch of different foods at the grocery store lately, so I wanted to share my one of my favorite discoveries with all of you each week.

Fresh figs are not only difficult to find off-season but they’re also extremely expensive. Since the fresh ones are far superior than their dried counterparts, I’ve taken full advantage of peak fig season with the big 32oz container of fresh figs I bought from Trader Joe’s last week. They’re a great snack on their own, but I’ve been on a huge sun-butter kick lately and they are an amazing duo. Not to mention they’re so damn pretty! What are your favorite ways to use figs?

IMG_6718 IMG_6798

Sun-butter on sun-butter on sun-butter, what is sun-butter you ask? Sunflower seed butter – it’s salty and sweet, loaded with Selenium, and a great way to mix it up from traditional peanut butter.

IMG_5188

I added figs to this wonderful recipe (shown above) from my friend, Julia Nicholson – be sure to check it out along with the rest of her amazing blog

IMG_6748

Anyone recognize this granola???

Leave a comment