Raw Lo Mein

WARNING: Reading this may cause you to want to make this recipe all week because it’s just that good. Not that I’m speaking from experience or anything…

So there’s actually a funny story behind this one. I made it entirely by accident. It all started because I had a ton of zucchini from the farmer’s market and wanted to test out my shiny new spiralizer from Williams-Sonoma. I also noticed I had a small amount of shredded carrots, half a pepper, and some leftover spicy baked tofu (side note: seriously can’t get enough of this stuff, I guarantee even your most avid tofu hater will love this!). Based on the remaining ingredients, it was clear I was making an Asian dish. I started throwing the ingredients together with sriracha, a touch of agave syrup, and coconut aminos (another side note: if you haven’t tried this amazing super low sodium soy sauce substitute, you are seriously missing out!). I had every intention of heating up with the dish with some coconut oil – I even went as far as to heat a small amount up on a pan. Right before I was about to throw it onto the pan, I wanted to have a taste to see if I needed to add anything to the sauce, and I LOVED it. So much so, that I actually decided to turn off the stove and just eat it cold and crunchy. Maybe it was the heat, or maybe I was just really hungry, but now I’m positively hooked!

Just playing around with my new spiralizer.

Just playing around with my new spiralizer.

So now, without further ado…

IMG_4517

Raw Lo Mein

Ingredients
 1 large zucchini or 3-4 baby zucchinis
1/2 bell pepper
1/4 cup shredded carrots
(you may want to try adding other veggies like snap peas, baby corn, bok choy, mushrooms, etc.)
Optional protein (I used baked tofu as mentioned earlier)
For the sauce: coconut aminos (or soy sauce), sriarcha, and agave

Directions
1.  Spiralize zucchini (alternatively you could use a peeler or just slice it in thin matchsticks) and chop other veggies.
2. Mix in sauce ingredients, and definitely feel free to add other spices. Personally, I eyeballed it and poured a liberal amount of coconut aminos to fully coat the veggies, added a small squeeze of sriracha, and drizzled on an even smaller squeeze of agave.
3. Mix well and top with your choice protein.

And that’s it! So simple! Of course, if you’d prefer to heat it up, I’d recommend using coconut or sesame oil on medium to medium high heat for 5-10 minutes, or until the vegetables soften to your liking.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

