Tabouli Salad with Lemon Tahini Dressing

If I had to pick one type of ethnic food to live off of I would have to choose Mediterranean. Between the hummus, pita, olives, and salmon, I think I’d be set for life. So naturally, I’ve been wanting to try to make my own lemon tahini dressing, and I thought I might as well go the whole nine yards with the Mediterranean trend and make a tabouli salad as well.

My first attempt at the dressing was a complete and total fail. The recipe I was following added soy sauce and sesame oil, which it gave it more of an Asian feel rather than the tart lemony goodness I was hoping for. But thankfully, a la elementary school, “first is the worst, second is the best…” and my second try was AMAZING.

IMG_2331

 Ingredients
serves 1-2

salad:
2 cups chopped kale
1 cup sliced cucumbers
1/2 cup tomatoes (I used asst. cherry tomatoes)
couple tbsp fresh mint and parsley coarsely chopped
1/2 cup cooked black rice (traditional tabouli calls for bulgar, but I already had the rice on hand)
handful Saffron Road Crunchy Chickpeas (or canned, but these are more flavorful and add a nice texture)

dressing (adapted from Oh She Glows, one of my favorite food blogs!)
1/4 cup tahini
1/2 cup lemon juice (about 2 lemons juiced)
1/4 Nutritional Yeast (I was very skeptical about the whole concept of nutritional yeast, but I was pleasantly surprised! Definitely made a positive difference in the taste.)
2 tbsp olive oil
3+ tbsp water
salt/pepper to taste

Directions
1. Put all dressing ingredients together and blend until smooth
2. Pour some dressing over the kale and massage for a minute or so
3. Mix in the remaining salad ingredients
4. Top with additional dressing and crunchy chickpeas

Wow, I’m kinda obsessed with this dressing now. The next day, I ate the leftovers with avocado and cucumbers on a rice cake and dipped baby carrots in it, too. Enjoy!

IMG_2359

2 comments

Leave a Reply

