Fashion Week

Don’t get me wrong, I love to shop, but I mainly just peruse different boutiques and buy whatever I think looks good. With the exception of J.Crew, because I worked there for a year, I’m never the first one to know the latest new trend or an upcoming designer. Nevertheless, I was excited to go with my more experienced fashionista friend to Nashville Fashion Week 2014.

IMG_2590

Friday night’s show was held at Fifth Avenue of the Arts, outside a string of art galleries. Before the show began the galleries hosted a cocktail hour, which gave us a chance to see their latest exhibits while enjoying wine and hors d’oeuvres. I didn’t realize how many awesome galleries Nashville had! My favorite piece was one crafted with crayon points to form a portrait of Marilyn Monroe, one of my favorite icons. I also found out that during the first Saturday of every month there is an art crawl, so now I am definitely looking forward to going back to the galleries again soon.

top: shrimp with spicy pea pesto  bottom left: fried lobster risotto bites (we nicknamed them lobster "tater tots") bottom right: rosemary carrot cake

top: shrimp with spicy pea pesto
bottom left: fried lobster risotto bites (we nicknamed them lobster “tater tots”)
bottom right: rosemary carrot cake

 

IMG_2591

Can you believe these are all crayon points?!

As for the show itself, I had so much fun! There were five designers on Friday: Skif International, Amanda Uprichard, Samantha Pleet, Vaute Couture, and SW3 Bespoke. Skif International had a lot of pieces that reminded me of Free People, with their cozy, flowy sweaters. Amanda Uprichard’s collection was by far my favorite. She had a lot of dresses in bright colors. I could see myself wearing every piece, so I am definitely going to try to find her in stores. It also didn’t hurt that during her section of the show, Katy Perry was blasting through the speakers. Samantha Pleet had a lot of patterns and jumpsuits, which personally aren’t really my thing, but I could appreciate the design and had a lot of respect for her as a Pratt Institute alum. Vaute Couture also had bright, neon colors, but was a little too mod for my taste. Finally, SW3 Bespoke had so many great leather jackets in a variety of colors and styles, which is very much up my alley, and I knew my mom would have absolutely loved her pieces as well.

My favorite pieces of the night. First two are Amanda Uprichard and the last two are SW3 Bespoke.

My favorite pieces of the night. First two are Amanda Uprichard and the last two are SW3 Bespoke.

The night ended at the after party at the Rosewall, where my friend and I had the pleasure of meeting Jeffrey Rymer, owner of the Rymer Gallery, one of the hosting galleries of the night. He introduced us to his friends, all of whom were so incredibly nice and friendly, which definitely made the party so much more enjoyable, as we were probably one of the few college kids there. Overall it was a great event and I’m so happy I decided to attend on a whim. The highlight of the night was when a fashion blogger, Jessica Gemma featured my necklace on her Instagram account with the caption “nailed it”!

IMG_2427

3 comments

Leave a Reply

