Post-Spring Break Slump

Post-spring break slump (PSBS)

[pōst spring brāk sləmp] noun
a disorder that affects many college students in late March causing lack of motivation due to the proximity of summer (also see: zero fucks)

At this point in the semester summer is just within reach, but our professors are there to remind us that thousands of pages of reading, research papers, group projects, and finals exams are still standing between us and some poolside relaxation. Motivation is at an all-time low so it takes double triple the amount of effort to get assignments done. Last Monday, I succumbed to my severe PSBS, and decided to go out with a group of my friends and explore a new restaurant in East Nashville instead of working on a paper.

Much to our dismay, there was a long wait at Wild Cow, so we were forced to try out Rosepepper Cantina, a Mexican restaurant across the street. Fortunately, it turned out for the best. The food (and company) were impeccable, starting with the chips and salsa. The tomatillo was my personal favorite because it had a unique, sweet taste to it, and the chips were thin and crispy, but not greasy or overly salty.

IMG_4541

For my entrée, I ordered the Fajita Fresca, which consisted of a variety of fajita vegetables and beans on top of greens inside a crispy tortilla shell. Even the guacamole came in its own individual mini shell! Not only was the presentation great, but the fajita vegetables were some of the best I ever had – especially the portobello mushrooms.

IMG_6668

IMG_3239

Afterwards, a couple girls in the group had never been to Jeni’s ice cream, so we stopped to let them enjoy it for the first time. One girl even got the same combination I suggested in my post about it! (it’s the little things in life…).

IMG_1276

PSBS is truly a challenge for millions of college students. However, do not fret if you cannot fight your PSBS because even with the best intentions, sometimes you just need to say ‘screw it’ and do what makes you happy in the moment, whether or not it’s what you ‘should’ be doing. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not advocating this kind of flippant attitude as a lifestyle, but once in a while you do need to let loose. What started out as a casual outing to a restaurant with a friend, turned into a large group of KDs enjoying a fantastic Mexican meal in East Nashville. And I got to hang out with some girls I don’t normally see on a regular basis, which was an added bonus. I even went out again later that night to see The Lego Movie with my roommate. Apparently, we were the only ones crazy enough to go see it at that hour because we had the theater all to ourselves. While I may be paying the price later this week when I am finishing up a paper in the wee hours of the morning, I wouldn’t change a thing because these are the types of random memories I will always remember from my college experience.

971478_10152069537393237_1997170822_n

Left: The front of the movie theater looked like a retro roller rink. Right: Can you spot my roommate amid the dozens of empty chairs?

One comment

Leave a Reply

